Last reviewed and prices checked: 1 November 2026. Prices are published listings and estimates, not guaranteed quotations.
Introduction
The brakes have started squealing, and at the service counter the advisor says, “Front pads are finished, discs also need attention.” The estimate shows one number. It does not say whether that covers one wheel or both, new discs or just turning them, or which brand of pads.
Car brake pad replacement cost in India depends mainly on whether you are paying for pads alone or pads plus disc work, and on whether the price is for one wheel or a full axle. In the listings we checked on 1 November 2026, Maruti Suzuki’s genuine parts site showed pad sets at MRPs from ₹650 to ₹6,625 depending on the part number, a service marketplace listed front pad replacement from ₹1,299 in Bangalore with labour included, and a Hyderabad workshop listed ₹1,800 to ₹3,200 for front pads on cars such as the Swift and WagonR. Those are listed figures, not quotations.
This guide explains what the job covers, when discs come into it, and how to compare two estimates. We did not inspect cars or interview mechanics for this article. Prices come from published listings, technical points from brake-maker and trade documents, and the worked example is hypothetical. Brakes are safety-critical, so have a qualified workshop inspect and fit them.
Car Brake Pad Replacement Cost in India – Quick Overview
The table below collects prices that sellers published on 1 November 2026. It is not a market average and it is not a price list for your car.
Indicative Car Brake Pad Replacement Prices in India
| Job | Published figure | Source (checked 1 Nov 2026) | What to know |
|---|---|---|---|
| Genuine brake pad set (parts only) | MRP ₹650 (a 4-piece set) to ₹6,625; for example ₹1,150, ₹1,999, ₹2,070 and ₹2,199 | Maruti Suzuki Genuine Parts (one listing shown) | MRP including all taxes, per part number. The ₹2,070 listing is shown as fitting the Baleno. Most listings do not say front or rear. Labour is not included. |
| Genuine front brake disc (parts only) | MRP ₹860 to ₹1,899 per disc (sample part numbers) | Maruti Suzuki Genuine Parts: ₹1,150 listing | Sold per disc, so a pair is two. Including all taxes. |
| Front brake pad replacement, labour included | From ₹1,299 (Bangalore) | GoMechanic: Bangalore page | “For both front wheels”, 3 hours, 1-month warranty. A starting price; the exact figure needs your car model. |
| Rear brake shoe replacement, labour included | From ₹1,599 (Bangalore) | GoMechanic Bangalore page | Shoes, for cars with rear drums. “For both rear wheels”. |
| Front brake pads, parts and labour, by car (Hyderabad) | Swift, WagonR, Alto ₹1,800–₹3,200; i20, Creta, Venue ₹2,200–₹4,000; Nexon, Harrier, Safari ₹2,500–₹4,500; City, Amaze ₹2,800–₹4,800 | GarageNation: brake pad guide | A seller’s ranges, with no method stated. Luxury models are listed from ₹6,500. |
| Disc work, extra | Adds ₹2,000–₹8,000 per axle (Indian cars) | GarageNation brake pad guide | A seller estimate. GoMechanic lists front disc replacement per wheel (5 hours) and disc turning for both front wheels (4 hours), with prices shown only after you select a car. |
| Authorised-centre prices | Not verified | – | No published price list for brake pads or labour found. |
How far to trust this table. Four limits apply.
- These are prices that sellers chose to publish. Many are “from” prices, and listings change.
- The units differ. GoMechanic’s front pad price is for both front wheels, Maruti sells discs one at a time, and the workshop ranges are per axle. Compare like with like.
- Maruti’s MRPs are parts only and include taxes, while a workshop quote may show tax separately. GST on car parts is a uniform 18% from 22 September 2025, according to a Lakshmikumaran & Sridharan briefing.
- We could not find a published authorised-centre price list for brake work, so the table does not compare authorised and independent workshops. GoMechanic’s “savings compared to authorised services” banner is its own claim, and we do not use it.
Actual expenses depend on the make and model, the pad type, disc condition, labour, the workshop and the city.
What Does a Brake Pad Replacement Include?
Pads are replaced in sets for both wheels of an axle: the front pair or the rear pair. GarageNation says to always replace pads in axle pairs, because mismatched pads on one axle can make the car pull to one side. Front and rear pads wear at different rates, so you may need only one axle. Many cars have disc brakes at the front and drums at the rear, in which case the rear job means shoes (GoMechanic lists rear brake shoes separately).
A complete job means removing the wheels, inspecting the pads, discs and calipers, fitting the new pads, and a road test. Brembo points out that the removed pads and discs show faults elsewhere, such as in a caliper or bearing, and that these should be flagged before new parts go on. Trade magazine Counterman adds that pads soaked in grease, oil or brake fluid signal a leak that must be fixed first.
After fitting. Brembo recommends bedding in for about 300 km, with gentle braking while you listen for vibration or noise, because hard braking can overheat new friction material. GarageNation says new pads may squeal for the first 100 to 200 km. If the noise or vibration continues, go back to the workshop.
When Do Brake Pads Need Replacing?
GarageNation lists the usual signs: squealing from the wear indicator, grinding, longer stopping distances, the car pulling to one side, and a warning light on some cars. It warns that grinding can mean the backing plate is cutting into the disc.
The thickness limit depends on the car. Counterman says every lining has a minimum thickness specification and that, generally, about 3 mm or less means replacement. GarageNation says it replaces front pads at 4 mm and rear pads at 3 mm. So ask for the measured thickness in millimetres and the specification for your car, and ask to see the old pads.
Brake Disc Replacement and Disc Turning
New pads do not always mean new discs. Brembo says a disc needs replacing when it is at or below the minimum thickness set by the car maker, or shows deep circular scoring, radial cracks, dark or blue spots, or deformation. GarageNation adds that a lightly scored disc with enough thickness left can be machined (turned) to a flat surface, and that fitting new pads on a grooved disc wears them unevenly and noisily.
Price evidence: Maruti Suzuki lists genuine front discs at ₹860 to ₹1,899 MRP each, depending on the part number, so a pair is two. GarageNation puts disc replacement at ₹2,000 to ₹8,000 extra per axle on Indian cars. Ask for the measured disc thickness against the minimum, the reason for replacing or turning, and the cost of each option.
Brake Pad Price: Genuine, OEM-Equivalent and Aftermarket
Pad prices vary widely because pads are model-specific: Maruti’s own listings range from ₹650 to ₹6,625 across part numbers. Our guide to OEM and aftermarket parts explains the part types and why it suggests OEM or reputed OES for brakes. Whichever you choose, ask for the brand and part number, and check that it is written on the quote.
Factors That Affect Car Brake Pad Replacement Cost in India
- Car model and segment. GarageNation’s ranges rise from ₹1,800 for small cars to ₹6,500 and above for luxury models.
- Pad brand and type. Genuine, OEM-equivalent, aftermarket or budget.
- Front, rear or both. Rear jobs on drum-brake cars are shoes, not pads.
- Disc condition. Leave, turn or replace.
- Extra work. GoMechanic lists caliper pin replacement separately, per wheel, at 6 hours.
- Labour. Per wheel or per axle, itemised or lump sum. GoMechanic lists front pads at 3 hours and front discs at 5 hours per wheel.
- Workshop type and city. Rates, equipment and warranty vary.
- Tax and warranty. Whether tax is shown, and whether the warranty is written. GoMechanic lists 1 month on its brake jobs.
Authorised Service Centre vs Local Garage – Brake Pad Replacement Costs
We could not find a published authorised-centre price list for brake pads or brake labour, so we cannot say which type of workshop is cheaper. For a Maruti Suzuki car, the genuine pad part number and its MRP are public on the company’s parts site, so you can check the part price. What you can compare is everything around it:
- Parts. Genuine, OEM-equivalent or aftermarket, with brand and part number.
- Records. Measured pad and disc thickness, and whether you can see the old parts.
- Labour. Per wheel or per axle. Our guide to how car labour charges are calculated explains flat-rate and hourly charging.
- Warranty. What is covered, for how long, and whether it is written on the bill.
- Cars under warranty. Ask the manufacturer how outside brake work affects your warranty.
How to Compare Two Brake Pad Replacement Estimates
Two brake quotes are only comparable when they cover the same wheels and the same work. Check these in order:
- Coverage and units. Front, rear or both, and whether each figure is per wheel or per axle.
- Parts. Pad brand, part number and whether they are new.
- Disc work. Measured thickness against the minimum, and whether discs are left, turned or replaced.
- Extras. Hardware, slide pins cleaned and greased, cleaner. Ask why if brake fluid is included.
- Labour. Itemised or lump sum, and whether a road test is included.
- Tax. Bring both quotes to the same basis, as explained in our guide on how to compare two car repair estimates.
- Warranty. What is covered, for how long, and whether it is written.
Illustrative example: front brake quotes. These figures are invented to show the method. They are not market prices.
| Line | Garage A (hypothetical) | Garage B (hypothetical) |
|---|---|---|
| Coverage | Both front wheels, stated | Not stated (one wheel or both?) |
| Brake pads | ₹2,400 (brand and part number stated) | ₹1,500 (brand not stated) |
| Disc turning | ₹800 (discs measured, above minimum) | Not mentioned |
| Slide pins cleaned and greased | ₹300 | Not mentioned |
| Hardware kit and cleaner | ₹250 | Not mentioned |
| Labour | ₹900 (itemised, includes road test) | ₹500 (lump sum) |
| Total before tax | ₹4,650 | ₹2,000 |
| GST at 18% | ₹837 (shown) | Not mentioned |
| Warranty | 3 months, written | “1 month”, verbal |
| Total as quoted | ₹5,487 | ₹2,000 |
As written, Garage B is ₹3,487 lower. But its quote does not say whether the figures cover one wheel or both. If they are per wheel, the two-wheel total is ₹4,000, or ₹4,720 with 18% GST, only ₹767 below Garage A, which also includes disc turning, slide-pin service, hardware and a written warranty. Some of this may be included elsewhere or not needed for that car. The point is to ask, not to conclude.
How CarJeevan Helps Compare Two Repair Quotes
CarJeevan’s Car Repair Estimate Calculator & Quote Comparator is a free tool for organising two garage quotations side by side. For each quotation you enter the repair items with quantity, parts cost per item and labour, plus other charges, discounts and tax or fees. You can also tick whether a quotation states the part brand or number, explains the warranty, lists labour separately and requires your approval for additional work. The tool then shows the totals and the differences between the two. Its privacy note says the calculations run in your browser.
It has limits. It has no live price database, does not diagnose faults, cannot tell you whether a repair is necessary or a garage is overcharging, and does not guarantee savings. Its output is only as accurate as what you enter. Enter taxes exactly as the quotation shows them, and do not count them twice.
For brakes, enter the pads, disc work, slide-pin service and labour as separate rows. If a quote’s pad price is per wheel, ask the garage to confirm before you enter a quantity of 2 for the axle. A row that appears in one quote and not the other is then easy to spot, and it is a question to ask, not a verdict.
Have two garage quotations for your brake pad replacement? Use the CarJeevan comparison tool to organise and compare the parts, labour and other charges entered in both estimates.
Questions to Ask Before Approving Brake Pad Replacement
These are brake-specific. For general questions, see our list of questions to ask your mechanic before approving any repair.
Need and measurement
- How thick are the pads, in millimetres, and what is the limit for my car?
- Can I see the old pads?
Parts
- What are the pad brand and part number? Are they new?
- Is the quote for both wheels of the axle, or one wheel?
Discs and extras
- What is the measured disc thickness against the minimum?
- Will the discs be left, turned or replaced, and what does each cost?
- Are slide pins, hardware and cleaning included?
Labour, warranty and after fitting
- Is labour itemised, and does it include a road test?
- What is the warranty on pads and on labour, and is it on the bill?
- How should I drive during bedding in, and who do I call if there is noise or vibration?
- Will you get my approval before any extra work, such as caliper or disc replacement?
Car Brake Pad Replacement Cost – Frequently Asked Questions
How much does brake pad replacement cost in India?
It depends on the car and the scope. In the listings we checked on 1 November 2026, Maruti Suzuki’s genuine pad sets were listed at ₹650 to ₹6,625 MRP (parts only), GoMechanic listed front pad replacement from ₹1,299 with labour included (Bangalore), and a Hyderabad workshop listed ₹1,800 to ₹4,800 for front pads on common mass-market cars. Luxury models cost more. Real quotes can be higher or lower.
Do I need to replace the pads on all four wheels?
Not necessarily. Pads are replaced in sets for both wheels of an axle, and front and rear wear at different rates. Many cars have rear drums, where the job means shoes. A workshop should measure each axle before recommending work.
Do brake discs need replacing with the pads?
Not always. Discs are replaced if they are at or below the minimum thickness, deeply scored, cracked or deformed, and may be turned if there is enough thickness left. Ask for the measurement against the minimum.
Are genuine brake pads worth the extra cost?
Brakes are safety-critical, and our OEM guide suggests OEM or reputed OES parts for them. Whatever you choose, ask for the brand and part number and get the warranty written down.
Why do two garages quote different prices for brake pads?
The coverage, units, pad brand, disc work, extras, tax and warranty can all differ. A per-wheel figure and a per-axle figure are easy to confuse, so compare complete quotations rather than totals.
Conclusion
Brake pad replacement cost is not one number. Pads for one axle, a disc turned or replaced, a rear shoe job and caliper work are different scopes with different parts and labour. Published listings give a sense of scale, but they use different units and mostly come from sellers, so use them to prepare questions rather than as a price to expect.
Ask for the measured pad and disc thickness, the pad brand and part number, and whether the figures are per wheel or per axle. Compare complete quotations, including tax and warranty, rather than picking the lowest total. When you hold two estimates, the CarJeevan tool can line them up row by row, while the decision about what your brakes need belongs with a qualified technician.
This article is general information, not an inspection or professional advice. Prices are published listings and estimates checked on 1 November 2026 and may change. Brakes are safety-critical, so have a qualified workshop inspect and repair them.
Through CarJeevan,prashant bobde aims to make confusing automotive information easier to understand. The website focuses on practical questions that car owners face, such as how to compare garage quotations, understand parts and labour charges, review additional fees, and identify the right questions to ask before approving a repair.
CarJeevan also provides a free Car Repair Estimate Calculator and Garage Quote Comparator that helps users organise and compare two repair quotations using the information provided by the user.
The editorial approach focuses on clear explanations, practical examples, and transparent limitations. Where appropriate, articles refer to official information, manufacturer guidance, policy documents, and other reliable sources. Illustrative examples are identified as examples rather than presented as actual market prices.
CarJeevan does not claim to diagnose vehicle faults or independently verify every garage's prices. Readers are encouraged to consult a qualified automotive professional for mechanical inspections and safety-related repair decisions.
The goal is simple: to help Indian car owners understand repair costs better, ask informed questions, and make decisions with greater clarity.
Website: https://carjeevan.com/
